top of page

TONEX on being a family man, sock line & touring with Monique


Source: WOW Wednesday (WPN) Women’s Prosperity Network With Nancy Matthews, Trish Carr & Susan Winter

Tonex- Family Man, Comedian & More Book: "Grown Man Tips"

This morning I joined the Women’s Prosperity Network Weekly Talk Show with host, Nancy Matthews. I must say that I am glad that I joined! Her guest for today was comedian, Tone-X! Doing comedy for the past 20 years, he is now adding writer to his list of credentials. Today he speaks on his new book “Grown Man Tips”, family inspiration, working on the Monique show and going out on tour with her doing stand-up. “Its nothing like making people laugh”.

Q: As you were growing up, how did you overcome obstacles? A: You can’t measure how far you can throw a football with someone elses arm”. Never compare yourself. You should be exactly where you are. You have to be happy with where you are & live in the now. Obstacles are all about how you look at it, If you really love something, nothing is going to stop you. I’ve been a star in my eyes.

During the interview Tone-X speaks about how he feels that people have different ideas of success, but his success comes from seeing his family happy after returning from a long weekend of doing comedy.

Q: How did people react when finding out that you were going into comedy: A: The first time I stepped on the mic in 92 in NC I got a standing ovation and that’s when I knew, this is what I was meant to do. I have been making people laugh since a kid. My family is very supportive.

Q: Tell us about the book and where your passion to write it comes from? A: The book is different quotes that are meant to inspire people and put a smile on your face. I hope it will be a book that everybody will use on a daily basis. The book came from just me, going through life and taking these philosophies that I created and some were given to me. SO I decided to put em all in a book so you can have em all at one stop. Im very excited about it.

Q: So I notice that you always are dressed nice. Tell Us About the Socks: A: I love fashion: I remember being on the Kings of Comedy tour & Steve Harvey told another comic, “from the time you leave in the morning til the time you get home at night, you represent the Kings of Comedy”. That stuck with me. People have to realize 70% is fashion 30% is performance. Smell Good, Look Good, Feel Good. My smile is my business card, My dress is my trademark. I am very big on socks, Im trying to change the world, one sock at a time. I am creating a new sock line called “Soul Socks”.

Q: Who is the target audience for your book, “Grown Man Tips”: “This book is for anybody who can read and when I get it in braille it will be for the blind to”.

Q: How do you keep your humor up when having a bad day during the holidays? A: The holidays are the roughest period for me. It starts in November-February because that was around the time I had to battle in and out of the hospital with my mother who passed 7 years ago. The laughter is what saved me.” If I can keep my family & myself laughing, then I don’t have time to worry about what will make me going into a slump. Laughter is amazing.

Before the call ends Tone-X shares quite a few quotes that are very inspiring for everyday life: Be celebrated not tolerated. The guy that is celebrated is the winner. Make sure you laugh hard like no one’s watching today. Tone-X is going to be in Dallas, Tx. this weekend at the Improv with Monique.

Thank you all so much for checking on the TNG Media Blog! We keep our ears open so that we can give you Top Notch Reviews! Follow Us on one of our social networks!

Follow Tone-X https://twitter.com/tonexcomedy

Visit WPN: http://wpnglobal.com/wpndifference/

Follow Philicia on Twitter: @philiciasong

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
bottom of page